History

Lt. Matthew Flinders RN 

Lt. Matthew Flinders RN

Our History

 

The first recorded sighting of the south-west coast of Western Australia was by the "Leeuwin" (meaning Lioness) in 1622. Cape Leeuwin, so named by Matthew Flinders when he arrived here aboard HMS Investigator on the 6th December 1801, to begin his epic circumnavigation of Australia. Cape Leeuwin is where the Indian and Southern Oceans meet.

 

The name Augusta was chosen for Princess Augusta, the daughter of George III of England.

 

Settlement in Augusta followed the two earlier white settlements at King George Sound (Albany) in 1826 and the Swan River Settlement in 1829. The Augusta settlers, led by the Molloy's, Bussells and Turners, with their families and employees, as well as some independent settlers, landed in Augusta  on 2 May 1830.

steeped in history

The 1880's saw the timber industry expand in the area with the building of a mill at Kudardup and jetties at Flinders Bay and Hamelin Bay.

 

In 1895, the pioneer of the timber industry in the area, MC Davies helped build the Cape Leeuwin Lighthouse.

 

Georgiana Molloy

 

 

No mention of the history of Augusta can be made without reference to Georgiana Molloy one of the true poineers of the region.

 

A new wave of arrivals came in the 1920's, encouraged by the Group Settlement Scheme.

 

Today the Augusta region is a thriving community with a population that is growing all the time as people discover this very special corner of the world.

The Augusta Historical Museum  allows visitors to take a walk back into the harshness and austerity of the region's fascinating past.

 

 

Login to Webmail

Apply for an email address